Home > Practicing OSH > IOSH – Chartered Professionals

IOSH – Chartered Professionals

Brief History

One of the strongest professional bodies for Occupational Health and Safety Practitioners is the globally 37,000-strong UK-based Institution of Occupational Safety and Health (IOSH). Established in 1945 as the Institution of Industrial Safety Officers (IISO), an off-shoot of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents. After a name change and merger since, in 2002 the Privy Council awarded IOSH its own Charter.

Three years later, this body began awarding the Chartered Safety and Health Practitioner status.

Your Pathway in Brief

IOSH membership structure

IOSH has 5 categories of membership, i.e.:

  1. Affiliate Member;
  2. Technician Member (Tech IOSH);
  3. Graduate member (Grad IOSH);
  4. Chartered Member (CMIOSH); and
  5. Chartered Fellow (CFIOSH).

Each level has its own unique benefits which you can read up at Membership categories.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: